Eggs of the Universe

This is becoming a bit of a habit.

On my quest to actually know a little about my local area, Amy, Sophia  and I ventured to a Rozelle cafe for brunch.

Eggs of the Universe claims to be a….

IMG_5060

It’s  a pretty spot-on description.

IMG_5061

On a day like today, we had no excuse to sit outside.

IMG_5024

IMG_5028

I started with a cappuccino. Instead of the normal chocolate, there was some fancy raw cacao powder…or something like that. All I remember the waitress saying is that it was a little more bitter than normal. I didn’t notice!

IMG_5023

The menu stuck to the theme of eco-friendly…
IMG_5025

As did the water. The cinnamon stick was a stroke of genius, adding some extra anti-inflammatory qualities!

IMG_5029

My stroke of genius was ordering the coconut and mango smoothie ($9)

IMG_5033

I was sold purely because it came in a coconut, but as an added bonus, it was actually incredibly tasty.

IMG_5035

Amy got a Green and Shakti Super Food Blend ($9), which had greens, shakti powder, avocado, orange, raw C coconut water, coconut oil, chia seeds. It was a little too ambitious for me, but I had a taste and it was quite good! It was almost a meal in itself.

Sophia went for a Berry and Acai ($9), with organic mixed berries, banana, rice milk and Rio Life Acai. I am not a fan of banana, and hence could taste it straight away, but she found it fantastic!

IMG_5037

In running with the ‘healthy’ theme, I went for the poached fruits and granola ($15). I was hoping for a little more granola – it was mainly fruit, so not as filling. But that said, the combination was still delicious. Using the juices from the poaching process as the ‘liquid’ was perfect, as it made the dish a lot lighter (rather than milk)

IMG_5038

IMG_5043

Sophia ordered the avocado and tomato on whey and rye sourdough with hemp, oregano and basil ($14). She added a poached egg for some fun protein times.

IMG_5044

Amy got the porridge with activated organic oats, Pepe Saya cultured butter and cream, honey, bee pollen and linseed ($12). It had to be one of the best porridges I have ever tried! It was cooked perfectly, with just the right amount of liquid for the oats. Amy was also glowing in her reviews, saying it was one of the best she’d tried!

IMG_5046

I am a big fan of open kitchens and this is no exception. Being able to see the chef’s processes is always a win and it keeps them honest (not that they aren’t…but y’know)

IMG_5053

IMG_5054

The kitchen also happens to be a part of the sun-kissed tree garden.

IMG_5057

The inside is equally as pretty.

IMG_5058

IMG_5059Eggs of the Universe is all about being healthy and yummy at the same time. It made me feel good about eating breakfast out and that courtyard is so nice on a sunny day that I could stay there for hours.

It is a little on the expensive side, but that’s usually the case when it comes to the super-healthy. It does healthy very well though, and if I had the money, I’d probably be here all the time.

I’ll be back for sure.

Egg Of The Universe on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Eggs of the Universe

Leave a Reply

