Cornerstone

Bar + books = my idea of heaven.

IMG_5443

So when I walked into Cornerstone Bar and Food for a long needed catch up with my friend Zoe, and noticed a number of books on their tables, I knew I’d like it.

With a Friday happy hour that includes $5 wine, I was living the high life.

IMG_5444

Surrounded by the starkness of Carriageworks, Cornerstone gives off a very homely feel, with mismatched furniture.

IMG_5445

However, it doesn’t completely remove itself from the concrete jungle.

IMG_5447

IMG_5448

Zoe and I couldn’t go past some bar snacks – the mushroom and leek arancini balls ($5), as suggested by the bartender were pieces of fried goodness. The garlic aioli was the perfect accompaniment to the chips too!

IMG_5449

Cornerstone had been on my “go-to” list for quite some time, and despite the torrential thunderstorms that blasted Sydney, I’m glad I finally got there.

With free pool, books on the tables and comfy as couches, it’s the perfect place to have a casual drink. It’s also only a 10 minute walk from Redfern station.

Best of all, their Friday happy hour means you can have a glass of wine and a set of arancini for $10. Bargain!

Cornerstone Bar & Food on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

