Ra-ra-ramen

Spontaniety can only be a good thing in my books.

A spontaneous holiday, coffee or dance should always end well.

So when one of my besties Bec (whose epic blog you can check out here) suggested a visit to her favourite ramen place last week, I couldn’t refuse.

I had heard all good things about Ryo’s, so I had high hopes going in.

As the resident expert, Bec was in charge of ordering for the whole party. She advised the special, which could not be found written anywhere (that’s how special it is), the fried chicken and gyoza.

They did not disappoint.

IMG_3239

I went for the number 2, otherwise known as ‘ramen in tokyo style soy sauce flavoured soup with roast pork, egg, bamboo shoots and nori’ for a very decent $13.50. We also ordered two servings of fried chicken.

IMG_3240

Look at all that fried goodness! They were succulent on the inside and crunchy on the outside, with just the right amount of grease. KFC eat your heart out!

I didn’t grab a picture of the gyoza, but they were the perfect support to the main act.

With our stomachs sufficiently filled, there was only one place to go. MESSINA.

As always, I went for two of the specials.

IMG_3241

On the bottom was Hummingbird Cake (cream cheese gelato with hummingbird cake throughout):

Screen Shot 2013-08-11 at 9.12.27 PM

Courtesy of Gelato Messina

On top was Randy Watson (chocolate gelato with berry white chocolate fudge):

Screen Shot 2013-08-11 at 9.11.23 PM

Courtesy of Gelato Messina

It was a night of indulgence! I won’t need to eat for a week….

UPDATE: I have since been back to Ryo’s and it was disappointing. The ramen was very salty and they rushed us through the meal, bringing us our cheque and asking us to leave.  I don’t think I’ll be going back anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

