Melbourne and Lux Foundry

This month marks my four-month anniversary of living in Melbourne.

And I’ve done not one post about it.

Life has been catching up on me and my time for blogging has been significantly shortened.

But I’m back with a vengeance!

I’ve been eating up a storm and my camera has been accompanying me wherever I’ve gone.

Eventually, I’ll get around to showing a little more of my newly established life down here – my housies, for example.

But first, food!

—-

It is a truth universally acknowledged that Melbourne is the place to be for brunch.

So when Ell popped down for a weekend visit,  there was only one activity we were sure of.

Lux Foundry is in an old factory building in Brunswick, just off a main street. This means it’s massive with lots of seats, so unlike most places on a weekend morning, we didn’t have to wait.

IMG_0082

They’ve embraced the factory idea with the fit out, featuring a number of industrial quirks.

IMG_0080

IMG_0079

But what it looks like is of little importance in comparison to the food! The menu has a variety of savoury and sweet options, including ‘smoked salmon on a cauliflower fritter with horseradish créme fraiche, capers, chives and lemon’ and ‘orange and ricotta hotcakes with spiced pear compote, pistachio praline and Canadian maple’.

However, I couldn’t go past the coconut french toast with espresso mascarpone, berry compote, torrone and Canadian maple.

IMG_0075

IMG_0078

There’s nothing worse than French toast that is covered in egg on the outside but dry on the inside. Luckily, this was cooked perfectly – not too soggy and not too dry. The coconut flavour wasn’t as strong as I would have liked but the espresso mascarpone more than made up for it.

Ell went for a combination of sides – the potato hash, a poached egg and spicy baked beans.

IMG_0077

Bec followed the ‘go big or go home’ mentality and ordered the big breakfast with two eggs, potato hash,bacon, chorizo sausage, spinach and field mushrooms with sourdough toast. Both girls loved their dishes!

IMG_0076

All of us accompanied our meals with coffee. My cappuccino was the perfect temperature and beautifully presented. I would have liked a little more chocolate, but that’s my sweet tooth talking.

IMG_0074

IMG_0072

In a city that is dominated by new brunch spots, Lux Foundry almost falls into the stalwart category. Espousing the best of Brunswick, it’s a great spot for a lazy Sunday meal – without the wait!

Lux Foundry on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Melbourne and Lux Foundry

Leave a Reply

